Page 6 - FCC-N8-eng

This is a SEO version of FCC-N8-eng. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
A panel of judges from 67
countries gave the
Emporis Skyscraper Prize
to this building in
Barcelona. Torre Diagonal
Zero Zero, also built by
FCC, ranked in the ninth
FCC won the 2010 Emporis Skyscraper
Award, for the best skyscraper in the world,
as announced by the organizers of this
award. Another 300 buildings competed
for this prize.
The Emporis Skyscraper Awards are the
only worldwide architectural prizes for tall
buildings. The jury that awards the prize
comprises experts in architecture from 67
countries. Past winners include architects
of the stature of Santiago Calatrava for the
Turning Torso tower in Malmö (Sweden)
and Norman Foster for the St. Mary Axe
tower in London (United Kingdom).
The members of the Emporis Skyscraper
panel of judges remarked that this year, the
“exquisite aesthetics and the integration
of this Barcelona building with its surroun-
dings” was one of the aspects considered
in their decision rather than striving to beco-
me the tallest building in the planet, as was
the case of constructions such as the Burj
Khalifa, which came in second.
Stands 113 meters tall
Hotel Porta Fira is the work of the Japanese
architect, Toyo Ito, and the Spanish studio,
b720 Arquitectos, headed by Fermín Váz-
quez. It is located in one of Barcelona’s key
award for best